Gār-Naô


Description :

Gār-Naô (abbreviation: A), the "New Cave," is on the edge of the valley descending from Bāgh Gaï. The site was divided into three parts: the Stūpas Courtyard, the monastery, and isolated constructions. The part reserved for the stūpas appeared to be rectangular, however one wing extended to the north and had almost completely disappeared due to erosion. This left only the eastern and western monuments. The entrance was from the east facing two main stūpas with different orientations (A1 to the west, whose decoration evoked the Buddhist heavens, and A2 to the south), embellished by other stūpas, less important in size. At the other end of the enclosure were lined up five stūpas, remnants of a larger lot according to Barthoux. Of the northern wing, only stūpa A 10 remained, isolated by a wall. As at Tapa Kalān, a series of stūpas abutted the enclosure.

 

The monastery was located in the southwest corner. There appears to have been a considerable expansion of an earlier building. Each of the walls was occupied by a series of cells. The original monastery communicated with the to the Stūpas Courtyard by a corridor. In the southwestern corner, a staircase gave access to the ridge of the enclosure, another led to the caves that were dug under the western wall of the monastery. This "enlarged" monastery did not communicate with the other one, but only with the outside in a place that is now destroyed. A monk's cell A55, bordered on three sides by a bench devoid of statues, revealed a circular stūpa. Perhaps a stūpa built over the remains of a deserving monk.

 

 A large room A63 occupied the northeast corner. Between this room and the Stūpa Courtyard lay a built-up area, now stripped to the ground by erosion. Similarly, to the south of the monastery were stūpas of which only group A73 remains, almost entirely destroyed (Barthoux, 1933: 54ff.).

 

Perspective of the plan of Gār-Naô drawn by J. Barthoux (Barthoux, 1927) and the current state of the site from Google Earth satellite imagery.

Sites

Entre les IIe et IXe siècles de l'ère chrétienne, les monastères bouddhiques de Haḍḍa comptaient parmi les grands centres religieux qui accueillaient les milliers de pèlerins voyageant entre l’Inde et la Chine.

Gār-Naô

Description :

Gār-Naô (abréviation : A),  la « Nouvelle Grotte », est en bordure de la vallée descendant de Bāgh Gaï. Le site était divisé en trois parties : l’enceinte aux stūpa, le monastère et des constructions isolées. La partie réservée au stūpa semblait rectangulaire, cependant une aile s’étendait au nord et avait presque entièrement disparu du fait de l’érosion. Il ne restait donc que les monuments de l’est et de l’ouest. L’entrée se faisait par l’est face à deux stūpa principaux à l’orientation différente (A1 vers l’Ouest, dont la décoration évoquait les cieux bouddhiques et A2 vers le Sud), agrémentés d’autres stūpa, moins importants en taille. A l’autre extrémité de l’enceinte étaient alignés cinq autres stūpa, restes d’un lot plus étendu selon Barthoux. De l’aile nord, il ne restait que le stūpa A 10, isolé par un mur. Comme à Tapa Kalān, une série de stūpa était adossée à l’enceinte.

Le monastère se situait dans le coin sud-ouest. Il semble qu’il y ait eu un agrandissement considérable d’un premier édifice. Chacun des murs était occupé par des séries de cellules. Le monastère initial communiquait avec la terrasse aux stūpa par un couloir. Au coin sud-ouest, un escalier donnait accès au faîte de l’enceinte, un autre menait aux grottes qui étaient creusées sous le mur occidental du monastère. Le monastère « agrandi » ne communiquait pas avec l’autre, mais seulement avec l’extérieur en un endroit aujourd’hui détruit. Une cellule de moine A55, bordée de trois côtés par une banquette dépourvue de statues, a révélé un stūpa  rond. Peut-on penser qu’il s’agissait d’un stūpa édifié sur les restes d’un moine méritant ?

 Une grande chambre A63 occupait le coin nord-est. Entre cette pièce et la terrasse aux stūpa s’étendait un espace construit, maintenant décapé jusqu’au sol par l’érosion. De même, au sud du monastère se trouvaient des stūpa dont il ne reste que le groupe A73, presque entièrement détruits (Barthoux, 1933 : 54 et s.).

Plan de Gār-Naô dessiné par J. Barthoux (Barthoux, 1927).