Chakhil-i Ghoundi


Description :

Four parts were distinguished in the Buddhist foundation of Chakhil-i Ghoundi (abbreviation: C) located 1300 meters northeast of Haḍḍa. In the center, on a concrete area stood the main Stūpa C1 overlooking the others. The staircase was placed on the east, surrounded on the south and north by small stūpas, two on square bases and one on a circular base. The countermarchs of the C1 staircase were decorated with several scenes; the first depicted Dionysiacs and the second depicted, from left to right, Palace Life, the Śibi Jātaka, and the Interpretation of Queen Māyā's Dream. To the west, the platform extended to allow for the construction of the C8 stūpa. To the north and south, the ground had been considerably disturbed by the excavations attributed to Simpson. The platform was stopped abruptly by a thick wall, a possible remnant of an earlier enclosure.

 

Below were small stūpas organized in an artificial area around one, slightly larger, with an orientation close to that of the large stūpa. This C25 stūpa was probably the oldest of them all because it had been half-buried by the elevation of the neighboring buildings. This anarchic, disorganized arrangement left no room for the ritual path of pradakṣiṇā.

 

The third part was to the north, and corresponded to a series of three rooms in enfilades. Beyond, below, a large chamber contained two stūpas.

 

An earthen staircase, offset by the degradation of the platform, was located opposite that of the main stūpa. It gave access to an empty space that appeared to isolate the building. Previous excavations seemed to have damaged this forecourt, which had revealed remains of the stūpa. A step allowed one to exit this space. One descended to the east a gentle slope in five steps. It was at the end of this slope that the entrance gate to the site must have been located, but nothing remained of it. Then began the dwellings of the saṅghārāma: a long corridor led to three rooms, two of them elongated and parallel. Note that the limestone relief depicting the Offering of a Handful of Dust (on the upper register) and the First Sermon of Benares (on the lower register) was discovered in C, but its exact provenance has been lost (Barthoux, 1933: 40.).

 

Perspective of the plan of Chakhil-i Ghoundi drawn by J. Barthoux (Barthoux, 1927) and of the current state of the site according to Google Earth satellite imagery.

Sites

Entre les IIe et IXe siècles de l'ère chrétienne, les monastères bouddhiques de Haḍḍa comptaient parmi les grands centres religieux qui accueillaient les milliers de pèlerins voyageant entre l’Inde et la Chine.

Chakhil-i Ghoundi

Description :

On distinguait quatre parties dans la fondation bouddhique de Chakhil-i Ghoundi (abréviation : C) située à 1300 mètres au nord-est de Haḍḍa. Au centre, sur une aire bétonnée se dressait le stūpa principal C1 dominant les autres. L’escalier était placé à l’est, entouré au sud et au nord par des stūpa de petite taille, deux sur bases carrées et un sur base circulaire. Les contremarches de l’escalier de C1 étaient décorées de plusieurs scènes ; la première représentait plusieurs dionysiaques et la seconde figurait de gauche à droite la Vie de Palais, le Śibi Jātaka et l’Interprétation du Songe de la Reine Māyā. A l’ouest, la plate-forme s’étendait pour permettre la construction du stūpa C8. Au nord et au sud, le sol avait été considérablement remué par les fouilles attribuées à Simpson. La plate-forme était arrêtée brusquement par un mur épais, possible reste d’une première enceinte.

En contrebas se trouvaient des petits stūpa organisés sur une aire artificielle autour de l’un d’eux, légèrement plus grand, à l’orientation proche de celle du grand stūpa. Ce stūpa C25 était probablement le plus ancien de tous car il avait été à demi enfoui par la surélévation des édifices voisins. Cette disposition anarchique, désorganisée, ne laissait aucune place pour le chemin rituel de pradakṣiṇā.

La troisième partie se trouvait au nord, et correspondait à une série de trois salles en enfilades. Au-delà, en contrebas, une vaste chambre contenait deux stūpa.

Un escalier en terre, décalé par la dégradation de la plate-forme, était situé en face de celui du stūpa principal. Il donnait accès à un espace vide paraissant isoler l’édifice. Les fouilles précédentes semblaient avoir abîmé ce parvis qui avait révélé des restes de stūpa. Une marche permettait de sortir de cet espace. On descendait vers l’est une pente atténuée en cinq gradins. C’est à l’extrémité de cette pente qu’avait dû se trouver la porte d’entrée du site, mais il n’en restait rien. Ensuite commençaient les habitations du saṅghārāma : un long couloir menait à trois salles, dont deux allongées et parallèles. Notons que le relief en calcaire représentant l’Offrande d’une poignée de poussière (sur le registre supérieur) et le Premier Sermon de Bénarès (sur le registre inférieur) a été découvert sur C, mais sa provenance exacte a été perdue (Barthoux, 1933 : 40 et s.).

Plan de Chakhil-i Ghoundi dessiné par J. Barthoux (Barthoux, 1927).