Tapa Kalān


Description :

Tapa Kalān (abbreviation: TK), studied by Jules Barthoux, was one of the most important sites in the locality. It was more than 120 metres long, formed by the juxtaposition of four adjoining foundations. The site was approached from the east through a narrow corridor surrounded by two chambers and one had to descend a step to find oneself in front of the main stūpa of the courtyard to the stūpa, TK 68, which bore a modelled representation of the Attack of the Māra Army. This was surrounded by a double row of stūpa, except at the level of the staircase so as not to interfere with access. The floor was covered with stucco plaster. The courtyard was surrounded by chambers and chapels in which numerous statues were discovered. The foundation was enlarged by open or closed cells, protecting new buildings. The enclosure was not strictly square and Buddha statues, sometimes monumental, were leaning against it, inside and outside. Finally, other stūpa were built outside the walls.

 


The foundation to the north, almost completely eroded, was perhaps the oldest. Here a stūpa TK 1 was found enclosing in its masonry an earlier stūpa, TK 1a. It is known that it was not acceptable to destroy a stūpa, so it was built on top of it, encompassing the ancient structure. It should also be noted that there are numerous indications that the sites were constantly being expanded and remodelled, which is not insignificant for our study. Indeed, each time the sites were remodelled, the whole site was re-stuccoed. It is therefore important to bear in mind that the modelling and reliefs found may not have been put in place initially and may be the result of a reworking, or may not have been made at the same time as the surface on which they are applied and may be the result of a later addition. For these reasons, recent statues or reliefs may adorn an ancient monument.

 


To the south, two adjoining foundations contained stūpas. The first contained a medium-sized stūpa TK 140, around which were found several schist reliefs depicting the Return of Mayā to Kapilavastu, the Offering of the Four Bowls and the Relic Bearers. It was surrounded by chambers and chapels which revealed heads. The other contained only one large stūpa, TK 141. Stuccoed, the floor around it was packed with clay (Barthoux, 1933).

 


Perspective of the plan of Tapa Kalān drawn by J. Barthoux (Barthoux, 1927) and the current state of the site from Google Earth satellite imagery.

Sites

Entre les IIe et IXe siècles de l'ère chrétienne, les monastères bouddhiques de Haḍḍa comptaient parmi les grands centres religieux qui accueillaient les milliers de pèlerins voyageant entre l’Inde et la Chine.

Tapa Kalān

Description :

Tapa Kalān (abréviation : TK), dont l'étude a été menée par Jules Barthoux, était l’un des sites les plus importants de la localité. Il mesurait plus de 120 mètres de long, formé par la juxtaposition de quatre fondations accolées. On abordait le site par l’Est au moyen d’un étroit couloir entouré de deux chambres et il fallait descendre une marche pour se retrouver en face du stūpa principal de la cour aux stūpa, le TK 68, lequel portait une représentation modelée de l’Attaque de l’Armée de Māra. Ce dernier était entouré d’une double rangée de stūpa, excepté au niveau de l’escalier afin de ne pas en gêner l’accès. Le sol était recouvert d’un enduit de stuc. La cour était entourée de chambres et de chapelles dans lesquelles de nombreuses statues furent découvertes. La fondation s’élargissait par des cellules ouvertes ou fermées, protégeant de nouveaux édifices. L’enceinte n’était pas rigoureusement carrée et des statues de Buddha parfois monumentales y étaient adossées, à l’intérieur comme à l’extérieur. Enfin d’autres stūpa étaient édifiés à l’extérieur des murs.

La fondation au nord, presque entièrement érodée, était peut-être la plus ancienne. On y avait retrouvé un stūpa, TK 1, renfermant dans sa maçonnerie un stūpa antérieur, TK 1a. On sait qu’il était inadmissible de détruire un stūpa, aussi construisait t-on par-dessus, en englobant la structure ancienne. Il est d’ailleurs à noter que de nombreux indices prouvent que les sites étaient en perpétuel agrandissement et objets de remaniements constants, ce qui n’est pas anodin pour notre étude. En effet, à chaque remaniement, c’est l’intégralité des sites qui étaient re-stuqués. Il faut donc garder à l’esprit que les modelages et les reliefs trouvés peuvent ne pas avoir été mis en place initialement et relever d’une réfection, ou ne pas avoir été réalisés en même temps que la surface sur laquelle ils sont appliqués et relever d’un ajout postérieur. Pour ces raisons, des statues ou des reliefs récents peuvent orner un monument ancien.

Au sud, deux fondations accolées abritaient des stūpa. La première contenant un stūpa de taille moyenne TK 140, autour duquel ont été retrouvés plusieurs reliefs en schiste représentant le Retour de Mayā vers Kapilavastu, l’Offrande des Quatre Bols et les Porteurs de Reliques. Il était entouré de chambres et de chapelles qui ont révélé des têtes. L’autre ne contenait qu’un seul grand stūpa, le TK 141. Stuqué, le sol qui l’entourait était damé en argile (Barthoux, 1933).

Plan de Tapa Kalān dessiné par J. Barthoux (Barthoux, 1927).